California Law Prohibits Workplace Discrimination and Harassment
Did you know that California now requires companies with 5+ employees to provide harassment training? This not only includes Part-time and Full-time staff, but your temporary or seasonal staff as well (i.e. interns).
All staff in a manager role or higher will need to take a 2-hour harassment training and upkeep their certificate every two years after that. Those who are in a non-managerial role will only need to take a 1-hour training every two years. All new-hires are to be trained within 30-days of their hire date.
Steps you should take:
Post the State notice in your Employee information area and provide the pamphlets to your staff.
Search for an online or in-person training program that you would like to utilize for your employees.
If you are a CalNonprofits member, you get the perk of having a free account with ThinkHR. They have an online training program you can use with your team.
Update your employee handbook and/or onboarding paperwork to have a “read acknowledgment” form for staff personnel files.
Once you have identified a program you will utilize, you will need to start providing the training to all current and new employees.
All employees should be trained no later than January 1, 2020 and your HR department should keep staff up-to-date on their training(s).