Be Our Guest

Each year, elected officials and other local luminaries get together to honor the nonprofit community and compete for the best pumpkin designer awards.

Stay tuned for Be Our Guest 2024!

Be Our Guest 2023

Demone Carter,
Be Our Guest Emcee

Join us for the 16th annual Be Our Guest -- Silicon Valley's most unique nonprofit luncheon and pumpkin auction! SVCN’s Be Our Guest is our fun twist on rubber chicken luncheons where local “celebrities” share lunch with hundreds of CBO staff and community leaders. Each year, SVCN honors nonprofits and nonprofit leaders who make a positive impact in our community and we auction off elaborately designed pumpkins.

Guests will enjoy a lively BBQ lunch, festive pumpkin contest, and the Nonprofit Impact Awards presentation.

Nonprofit Impact Awards

Every year, Silicon Valley Council of Nonprofits recognizes leaders and organizations in the nonprofit community who make a positive impact on the community, as well as the efforts of those who support local nonprofits. This year's award categories include:

  • Patricia A. Gardner Changemaker Award
  • Nonprofit of the Year Award
  • Collaborative Impact Award
  • Emerging Nonprofit Leader Award
  • Nonprofit Ally Award

Support for the 2023 Nonprofit Impact Awards comes from BDO Nonprofit & Grantmaker Advisory.

Patricia A. Gardner Changemaker Award

Named after SVCN's long-time CEO, Patricia A. Gardner, this award honors Patricia's vision of nonprofit power in unity strengthened many community-based nonprofits and their work throughout the County.


Chad Bojorquez + Claudine Sipili

Nonprofit of the Year

This award honors a nonprofit organization that has gone above and beyond to serve the community over the last year.


Elevate Community Center + Razing the Bar

Collaborative Impact Award

This award reflects SVCN’s value of collaboration. The awardees will have worked across boundaries to develop a common vision and shared values; the awardees will have generated outcomes improved by their collaboration.


Guerreras of the ¡SÍ SE PUEDE! Collective

Emerging Nonprofit Leader Award

The future of the nonprofit community is in the hands of emerging leaders who are shaping the future of our sector through their energy, creativity, and exceptional leadership. This award recognizes up-and-coming individuals in the nonprofit sector.


Katie Blevins + Cris Unciano, Jr.

Nonprofit Ally Award

This award will be given to a government, private partner, Board member, or volunteer who has demonstrated an extraordinary level of commitment to the goals and work priorities of Santa Clara County nonprofits over the last year.


Sherri Sager

Pumpkin Contest + Auction

Every year, local celebs (or their loyal staff) create and donate pumpkins to compete in the annual pumpkin contest and fundraising auction.

Ever wanted to put your pumpkin decoration to the test? Community members can join in on the fun, too!

Stay Tuned for Next Year's Contest!

Celebtrity Table Captains

Celebrity Table Captains mingle with nonprofit staff and design pumpkins for the annual pumpkin contest and fundraising auction. Stay tuned for the full list of table captains coming later this summer!

Teresa Alvarado
Regional VP, PG&E
Sylvia Arenas
Supervisor District 1, County of Santa Clara
Arjun Batra
Councilmember District 10, City of San José
Christopher Berini
Chief Advancement Officer, United Way Bay Area
Cynthia Teniente-Matson
President, San Jose State University
Domingo Candelas
Councilmember District 8, City of San José
David Cohen
Councilmember District 4, City of San José
Jean Cohen
Executive Officer, South Bay Labor Council
Dave Cortese
California State Senator, District 15
Jon Cowan
Government Relations & Community Partnerships, El Camino Health
Gina Dalma
Executive VP, Silicon Valley Community Foundation
Dev Davis
Councilmember District 6, City of San José
Dr. Mary Ann Dewan
County Superintendent of Schools
Bien Doan
Councilmember District 7, City of San José
Megan Swezey Fogarty
AVP Community Engagement, Stanford University
Maria Garcia
Director of Grantmaking, The Health Trust
Michelle Fries
Director, Silicon Valley Community Foundation
Greta Hansen
COO, County of Santa Clara
Sergio Jimenez
Councilmember District 2, City of San José
Jennifer Kelleher Cloyd
CEO, FIRST 5 Santa Clara County
Ellen Kamei
External & Legislative Affairs, AT&T
Rosemary Kamei
Councilmember District 1, Vice Mayor, City of San José
Larry Klein
Mayor, City of Sunnyvale
Janikke Klem
Senior VP, Nonprofit and Community Relations Officer, Heritage Bank of
Kelly Kline
AVP Local Government Affairs, Stanford University
Julie Lata
Global Community Affairs, Applied Materials
Otto Lee
Supervisor District 3, County of Santa Clara
Camille Llanes-Fontanilla
VP SV Programs, Sobrato Family Foundation
Dr. Rocío Luna
SCC Deputy County Executive
Jennifer Maguire
City Manager, City of San José
Sal Pizarro
Columnist, The Mercury News
Elisa Orona
Senior Director, San Francisco Foundation
Peter Ortiz
Councilmember District 5, City of San José
Gail Pellerin
CA Assembly District 28
Steve Preminger
Director, SCC CEO
Sarah Rudman
Deputy Health Officer, Santa Clara County Public Health Dept.
Melinda Snavely
CEO, Healthier Kids Foundation
Cynthia Teniente-Matson
President, San Jose State University
Omar Torres
Councilmember District 3, City of San José

Photo Archives